Happy New Year 2012!

From the highest place in Zacatecas, Mexico: Happy New Year 2012!

Doomsday? No, that was not the first thing that came to my mind when the date in the corner of my laptop screen changed into 1/1/2012. It is going to be an interesting year: I will finally graduate from high school in May -the moment that I have been waiting for, do IB Exam, get into college, spend my second ‘summer holiday’ in Indonesia, and more things to do. Another life transition from high school to college, obviously. I am wondering if it will go smoothly. I hope.
In my personal (read: password protected) blog, I have written twenty nine resolution for this year. It will still increase, since I always encounter new things and experience every day. I hope those dreams will come true this year.
In less than 24 hours, I will leave Mexico and go back to The Land of Enchantment, New Mexico, United States. As you can expect, I already feel like home here, in Mexico, so it is sort of hard to just leave like that. What makes my feeling worse is the fact that next semester is going to be my last semester in UWC, the school that has changed my perception about the world.
One of my resolution for my last semester is, “Enjoying every second I have, socializing with my friends, and reflecting about my target more.”
Rooftop of Zacatecas, in the afternoon.

Nicol, my Costa Rican friend who shares the same room with me during this winter break, was really homesick. New Year’s Eve is a great deal in Latin America, but here, we celebrated it simply. Barbecue and fireworks, of course, are the two main actors in this event. However, due the fact that I am a vegetarian, I did not eat that much.
The best thing was when my best middle school friends got together in Jakarta to celebrate New Year. We spent the countdown together (Indonesian time, absolutely), which was kind of weird because it was still midday in my place (13 hours difference!).

OK, I have some more pictures from the Rooftop of Zacatecas. First, there are three cowboy sculptures whose horses that have different poses. The first horse has both front feet on the ground, the second horse has one foot up, and the third horse has both feet up. They represent the horses that die because of oldness/sickness but not war, war, and sickness after war.

The second horse.

The second horse from the hill.

La Bufa, the hill.

View from the hill.

Mausoleo de Los Hombres Ilustres de Zacatecas. What is it?

This is it. How does it look like?

This is how it looks like.
I do not know where my feet will bring me this year. However, wherever I am going, as long as it gives me new experience and air to be breathed, I will be happy. I welcome myself to another adventurous year, 2012.
One thought on “Happy New Year 2012!

  1. Dear Titan,,, so awesome.. all you have written so inspiring me .. and I always tell in my class to all my students .. hope they will join you … so touchy ….Thanks a lot Titan… Miss you so much….. Have a great day …
    Love You…Titan..

    Like

Leave a Reply

